Home Forums Nazca Questions and Answers Adding pins to user defined cell

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    dnortheast

Hello, I’m somewhat new with Nazca, and am now getting into problems that defy my current understanding of the package. I am trying to make a cell that includes a high resolution ring (arbitrarily high in the code), and a ‘pulley-coupled’ waveguide that passed by. I intend the user to be able to input the radii and coupling ‘angle’, etc. Visually, all looks OK with this, and it comes together as intended.

Then, I try to add pins so this can be instanced in other cells, and now I don’t understand what is happening. I have tried to follow examples that name pins and assign them to locations defined through the layout of internal instances. When I do this, my layout appears to translate a bit, then rotate 180 degrees! And the pins are not where I intended at all.

In the code I am including, I intend to add pins that correspond to the ends of the two straight waveguide sections (nd.strt). I believe both of the unconnected pins here are ‘b0’ pins.  I make an ‘a0’ and ‘b0’ from these, and include ‘nd.put_stub()’ which shows the pins are in the wrong location. In the code, I have commented out the pin definitions. If they are uncommented, the design flips, as I said.

Can anyone provide some guidance? What am I not getting about making pins here? (Or perhaps in general.)

import nazca as nd
    from nazca.interconnects import Interconnect
    import nazca.geometries as geom

# change gds database units
    unit = 1e-5
    nd.gds_base.gds_db_unit = unit*1e-6
    nd.gds_base.gds_db_user = unit

# clear then define some layers
    nd.add_layer(name='one',layer=1,accuracy=1e-5)
    nd.add_layer(name='two',layer=2,accuracy=1e-5)
    nd.add_layer(name='three',layer=3,accuracy=1e-5)

#ic = Interconnect(width=2.0, radius=10.0,layer='one')